Book Review 12: My Lover’s Lover by Maggie O’Farrell

My Lover’s Lover starts as the story of Lily who has just moved in as Marcus’ flatmate and realises that his last girlfriend has only recently left and under apparently mysterious circumstances. As the story unfolds we learn more about what happened to Sinead, the ex and that Marcus and Lily aren’t perhaps as normal as they seem. As Lily falls ever more deeply in love with Marcus, Sinead’s aura consumes her with fear and obsession that spark a drama of passion and betrayal.
There are also interesting ideas floating around about the ways past love affairs can haunt us. But the protagonist doesn’t have even a single discernible personality trait, the “love” she feels for the main male character is so poorly developed that it has no emotional resonance, and every element of the plot feels a little stale.
It’s an easy read, was a great holiday read, but it has more to it that is out there. The characters are flawed and therefore interesting and the novel has a mystery element intertwined with the romance that gives it more depth. Having said that, I thought the ending was a little anticlimatic as I felt like O’Farrell was building up to something a bit more dramatic than what actually happens.
I’ll give this book a low rating because the first half of the book I was confused. I felt like O’Farrell had this great idea and did not know how to finish it. And I was just waiting for some crazy plot twist but it never came. I feel shorted with this book.

Feeling disappointed but I just got this for only Php 50.

Author:

I'm Marifer Regalario Bigas, 18 years old from Cavite City and studying at University of Makati. I come up with a book review blog because of some realizations. Yo he honest, I'm actually not fond of reading books or as they say a "book addict", I was just forced by my Aunt to read books because she said that it's just for me, I'm the one who'll benefit in it and I can say she's right. I'm now amending my vocabulary because everytime I encounter new words I automatically search for the meaning of it. On the other hand, I just enjoyed more when reading love stories because maybe I don't have any. So expect that almost all of my reviews are surrounded with hearts and overflowing love.

Leave a comment